C. S. Challinor

Judgment of Murder

Publishers Weekly Review:

In Challinor’s intriguing 10th mystery featuring Rex Graves of Scotland’s supreme criminal court (after 2015’s Murder Comes Calling), Rex learns of the passing of his old mentor, former judge Lord Murgatroyd (aka Judge Murder), and phones Murgatroyd’s widowed daughter and only heir, Phoebe Wells, to extend his condolences. When Phoebe tells Rex that she suspects her father died of unnatural causes, Rex travels to Canterbury, England, to learn more from Phoebe. He compiles a list of criminals who came before Lord Murgatroyd, including Richard Pruitt, who got off after being accused of murdering a young school girl. Adding more suspicion is news of a young girl’s disappearance. Pruitt vows his innocence and offers proof about the person he says is the real killer. Is there a link between these crimes and the old judge’s possible murder? On the personal side, Rex manages a little romancing with his fiancée, Helen d’Arcy, while resisting Phoebe’s flirtations. Readers will eagerly await Rex’s further adventures. (Nov.)

Rex Graves #8
It’s a dark day for Scottish barrister Rex Graves when he learns that Lord Gordon Murgatroyd, AKA Judge Murder, has died—supposedly of natural causes. His daughter Phoebe thinks otherwise and enlists Rex's help. With a target on his back and a child abduction case gripping the region, Rex fears that the judge’s death won’t be an isolated incident.
Rex Graves #7
When a spate of murders takes place in a quiet riverfront community in south-central England, Rex Graves is called upon to lend his investigatory expertise. For the first time in his sleuthing career, Rex finds he has good reason to fear for his life.
Rex Graves #6
Ringing in the New Year turns deadly at Rex's Hogmanay celebration in the Scottish Highlands. As the clock strikes midnight and the power goes out, the inheritors of Gleneagle Castle are found dead. Rex must use his skills of intellect and detection to catch the culprit in this traditional locked-room mystery.
Rex Graves #5
Poison is served up with the wedding cake and champagne at Newcombe Court in the English countryside, where Rex Graves has been invited as Helen's reluctant guest.
Rex Graves #4
Rex Graves holds a housewarming party at his newly converted hunting lodge in the Scottish Highlands and discovers there's a serial killer on the loose.
Rex Graves #3
Rex Graves investigates an apparent suicide at his son's college in Florida and opens up a can of worms.
Rex Graves #2
Scottish barrister-sleuth Rex Graves unwittingly travels to an exclusive nudist resort in the French West Indies to solve the mystery of a missing actress.
Rex Graves #1
Not even a blizzard on the Sussex coast can keep Rex Graves away from Swanmere Manor, but instead of Christmas cheer, the Scottish barrister finds a dead guest.